Conservation areas and listed buildings

Non-designated heritage assets

A Heritage Asset is defined within the National Planning Policy Framework (NPPF, 2012) as “A building, monument, site, place, area or landscape identified as having a degree of significance meriting consideration in planning decisions, because of its heritage interest.

Heritage assets include;

  • designated heritage assets
  • assets identified by the local planning authority (including local listing).

Whilst Hambleton does not have a local list, there are a number of buildings identified as Non Designated Heritage Assets (NDHA). Those buildings identified within the Conservation Area Appraisals (2010) as Buildings of Local Interest are to be considered as NDHAs. Other buildings have been identified through the planning process using the adopted criteria and their status has been taken into account in reaching decisions on applications, using a balanced judgement and having regard to the scale of any harm or loss and the significance of the heritage asset.

You can download our assessment criteria here;

Interactive Map

The following map shows an overview of the current non-designated heritage assets.

Selecting a symbol will provide you with further information. 

rating button