Latest news

Election candidates announced

Published on Friday, 15th November 2019

Voting sq

The six candidates for the Richmond (Yorks) constituency in next month’s general election have been published.

Nick Jardine (Independent); Thom Kirkwood (Labour); Philip Knowles (Liberal Democrats); Rishi Sunak (The Conservative Party); Laurence Waterhouse (The Yorkshire Party); and John Yorke (Green Party) are standing at the December 12 election, which is administered by Hambleton District Council.

Anyone still not registered to vote has until midnight on November 26 to register.  New registrations can be made online at or by calling your District Council.

The deadline to apply for a new postal vote, postal proxy vote or to make changes to existing postal or proxy votes is 5pm on November 26.

The last date to apply for a new proxy vote is 5pm December 4.

New applications can be downloaded at or by calling your District Council.

For further help contact your District Council – Hambleton on 01609 779977 and Richmondshire on 01748 829100.

  • A list of Candidates standing in the Thirsk and Malton constituency is available at