Conservation areas and listed buildings

Conservation areas

A Conservation Area is defined as an area of special architectural or historic interest the character or appearance of which it is desirable to preserve or enhance.

There are 53 Conservation Areas within Hambleton District (48 outside the National Park).

Further advice on development within Conservation Areas can be obtained from the Development Management Section on 01609 779977 or emailing

Permitted development

Buildings within a Conservation Area are subject to tighter planning controls than those outside such an area. As a result, many works to houses will require the benefit of planning permission, however there are still works which are considered 'permitted development'.

In certain circumstances, works which are considered permitted development may be harmful to the character and appearance of the area. In such cases the Council may consider making an Article 4 Direction to restrict 'permitted development rights'.

Article 4 Directions

Article 4 Directions are issued by the Council in circumstances where specific control over development is required, primarily where the character of an area of acknowledged importance would be threatened.

Each Article 4 Direction may differ in content, therefore you are advised to check the wording of the relevant direction for your area.

There are currently 10 Article 4 Directions within Hambleton District:

There are 5 Conservation Area Appraisals which cover the market towns of:

The adopted Design Guide SPD provides guidance on acceptable development within the Market Towns.

Interactive conservation map

The following map shows the current Conservation Areas and Article 4 Directions.

Selecting a symbol will provide you with further information. 

Further information

Contact the Conservation Officer at or on 01609 779977