Elections - Thursday 6 May 2021

Elections are due to take place on Thursday 6 May for the Police, Fire and Crime Commissioner (PFCC) Election and a by-election at Northallerton Town Council (Central Ward only)

Selby District Council is the lead authority for the Police, Fire and Crime Comissioner Election. Find out more on their website:

If you would like information or a nomination pack for the Northallerton Central Ward contact Emma Calvert on 01609 767227 or email [email protected] 


Key Dates

Notice of Election - Monday 15 March 2021 

Poll Card Despatch - Around 17 March 2021

Deadline to Register to Vote - Midnight Monday 19 April 2021

Postal Vote (new applications, amendments or cancellations) - 5pm Tuesday 20 April 2021

Proxy Vote (new applications, amendments or cancellations) - 5pm Tuesday 27 April 2021     

Register to vote

Use the government online service to register to vote, or update your name or address. It takes less than 5 minutes and you can do it on the device you're viewing this web page from:

Postal vote

Voting by post is an easy and convenient way of voting if you are unable to get to the polling station. More information is here:

Proxy votes

Voting by proxy means that you can appoint someone else to vote on your behalf. Proxy voting is convenient if you are unable to get to your polling station on election day. More information is here:

Polling Stations

We are working to ensure that every polling station is Covid secure. Everyone who visits the polling station will be asked to wear a face covering unless exempt. Hand sanitiser will be available when you enter and exit the polling station, social distancing measures will be in place and we will be limiting the amount of people inside each polling station at once therefore the voting process may take slightly longer than usual. You are invited to bring your own pencil or pen to cast your vote if you wish to.

The layout of your polling station may be different to at previous elections, each polling station will be clearly marked with signage to indicate any differences.



Polling Station Changes

Due to the current situation with COVID-19 some Polling Stations have been temporarily changed. Please see the venue changes below, this information can also be found on your Poll Card.

  • Brandsby Cholomley Hall- Crayke Sports Club, Easingwold Road, Crayke, York, YO61 4TZ

  • The Grain Store Great Langton- Danby Wiske Village Hall, Danby Wiske, Northallerton, DL7 0LY

  • Ingelby Cross Village Hall- Swainby Holy Cross Church Hall, Church Lane, Swainby, DL6 3EA

  • Leeming Community Hub- Leeming Village Hall, Leeming, Northallerton, DL7 9SS

  • Thirsk Friends Meeting House- Thirsk and Sowerby Town Hall, Westgate, Thirsk, YO7 1QR

  • Broomfield Sacred Heart- Northallerton Scout & Guide Group, 1 Boroughbridge Road, Northallerton, DL7 8AX

  • The Forum Northallerton- Register code NN02R will visit Northallerton Methodist Church Hall, High Street, Northallerton DL7 8EG. Register codes NS01R and NSO2R will visit Northallerton Town Hall, Lower Hall. Town Hall Buildings, High Street, Northallerton, DL7 8QR

  • Easingwold Methodist Schoolrooms- Streets A-K will continue to visit Easingwold Schoolroom. Those in streets L-Y need to visit Easingwold Community Library, Market Place, Easingwold, YO61 3AN


Further information

rating button